Michael Neblo

Michael Neblo

Michael Neblo

Professor of Political Science; Director, Institute for Democratic Engagement and Accountability


(614) 292-7839

2114 Derby Hall
154 N Oval Mall
Columbus, OH

Google Map

Areas of Expertise

  • Political Theory
  • Political Psychology / Political Sociology


  • Ph.D. University of Chicago, 2000
  • M.A. University of Chicago, 1996
  • B.A. Northwestern University, 1991

Michael Neblo, Associate Professor of Political Science, is on the steering committee of the Center for Ethics and Human Values.  His research and teaching interests focus on democratic theory, political psychology, political sociology, and how these fields relate to each other.  His book manuscript, Common Voices:  Between the Theory & Practice of Deliberative Democracy, cuts across the deadlock between supporters of deliberative theory and their empirical critics by focusing on the core goals of the larger deliberative political system.  His work has appeared in a wide range of journals, including The American Political Science Review, The Journal of Political Philosophy, Political Analysis, Public Opinion Quarterly, Political Behavior, Political Research Quarterly, Perspectives on Politics, Political Communication, Acta Politica, The Journal of Medicine & Law, Social Science & Medicine, among others.

Neblo earned his PhD in political science from the University of Chicago and a Bachelor of Arts in philosophy and Mathematical Methods in the Social Sciences (MMSS) from Northwestern University.  He teaches courses in deliberative democratic and general political theory from the introductory up to the graduate level, as well as graduate seminars on “Social Theory for Social Scientists” and the philosophy of Jürgen Habermas.  He has tertiary interests in applied philosophy of social science, politics and the emotions, race politics, health politics, immigration, politics and technology, and politics and the arts.  With various colleagues, Neblo has been the recipient of awards and fellowships from the National Science Foundation, the Mellon Foundation, the Kettering Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Veterans Administration, the International Society for Political Psychology, and the Ash Institute.